Russian Civil War 1917-1922

Russian Civil War 1917-1922 Postage Stamps

The Russian Civil War (November 1917 – October 1922) was a war in the former Russian Empire after the revolution of 1917. The two largest combatant groups were the Red Army and White Army. The Red Army defeated the White Armed Forces of South Russia in Ukraine and the army led by Aleksandr Kolchak in Siberia in 1919. The remains of the White forces commanded by Wrangel were beaten in Crimea and evacuated in late 1920. Lesser battles of the war continued in the periphery for two more years, with minor skirmishes with the remnants of the White forces in the Far East continuing well into 1923.

Several parts of the former Russian Empire – Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland – were established as sovereign states, with their own civil wars and wars of independence. The rest of the former Russian Empire – Ukraine, Belarussia (Belarus), Georgia (Gruzia), Armenia, Azerbaijan – was consolidated into the Soviet Union shortly afterwards.

Russian Civil War period include issues of the local military administrations of the different territories of Russia. Usually it is overprints and surcharge. They are mostly made ​​for the revaluation of existing stocks of slow selling denominations or as new issues of just created administrative units. In general Russian locals of Civil War period were produced to recirculate stocks of stamps printed by a previous government.

Entities issuing their own stamps include: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Army of the Northwest, Batum, Belarus, Estonia, Far Eastern Republic, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Siberia, South Russia, Transcaucasian SFSR, West Ukrainian National Republic.

Showing 1–16 of 27 results